Former Information Minister Maku gets Nasarawa APGA Gov ticket

Former Information Minister Maku gets Nasarawa APGA Gov ticket

With the deadline for the submission of the list of governorship candidates of political parties ending on December 26, the immediate past Minister of Information, Labaran Maku, has emerged the candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) for the February 2015 governorship election in Nasarawa State.

According to authoritative sources at the APGA headquarters in Abuja, Maku’s name was submitted before the December 26 deadline set by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), to contest the governorship position on the APGA platform.

Other candidates submitted by the party as governorship candidates are the APGA National Secretary, Sani Abdullahi Shinkafi, who is gunning for the Zamfara governorship position, former Minister of Interior, Emmanuel Iheanacho, for Imo State, Senator Anthony Agbo, Ebonyi State, and the former Managing Director of Diamond Bank, Alex Otti, Abia State.

Meanwhile the names of the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) submitted to INEC are Akinwumi Ambode, for Lagos State, Nasir el-Rufai, Kaduna, Governor Ibikunle Amosun, Ogun, Dakuku Peterside, Rivers, Aminu Bello Masari, Katsina, and Tanko Al-Makura for Nasarawa.

The Labour Party has also submitted the name of Adebayo Aloa-Akala as its candidate for Oyo State, and Tonye Princewill as candidate for Rivers.

The Progressives Peoples Alliance also sent the name of Chikwem Udensi as its candidate for Abia State.

The list of governorship candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as obtained by Sunday Independent are Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Emeka Ihedioha, whose name has been sent to INEC in spite of wide protests against his candidature.

Others PDP candidates are Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, for Enugu State, Ifeanyi Okowa, Delta State, the Chairman of Independent Newspapers Limited, Gambo Lawan, for Borno, Okezie Ikpeazu, for Abia, and Dave Umahi, Ebonyi.

Former Minister of Police Affairs, Maina Waziri, emerged as the PDP governorship candidate for Yobe State, while former Minister of State for Niger Delta, Darius Isiaku, had his name sent to INEC as the PDP candidate for Taraba State.

Share this post

NijaTV Germany

NijaTV Germany is a New Generation Nigerian media company that aims to bring high quality news content to Nigerians and the world. Made in Germany...Proudly Nigeria

No comments

Add yours